Showing posts with label House and Garden 1932. Show all posts
Showing posts with label House and Garden 1932. Show all posts

Monday, January 20, 2014

As though direct from France comes this Long Island garden.....

   As though direct from France comes this Long Island garden to take the year's gold medal. 


WALLS OF FRENCH TREILLAGE
    
   The estate of Mr. and Mrs. C. F. McCann at Oyster Bay contains several gardens, all of them laid out in the French manner. Treillage forms the background for one part, another is a walled entrance court with its pool and terminal statue and still a third is a formal garden reached by the wide steps pictured here. It was designed by Annette Hoyt Flanders to whom was awarded the gold medal of the American Society of Landscape Architects. Drawings by Joseph B. Platt.

STEPS TO THE FORMAL GARDENS

THE WALLED GARDEN

DOGWOOD ABOVE TULIPS

***At "Sunken Orchard", Mrs. Charles McCann's estate in Oyster Bay, Annette Hoyt Flanders' extensive landscaping included woodlands, bridle paths, dogwood allées and perennial gardens, as well as formal French gardens in the style of Le Nôtre surrounding the playhouse. In 1932 she was awarded the Medal of Honor in Landscape Architecture from the Architectural League of New York.***

Follow THIS LINK for more on the playhouse.

Monday, January 13, 2014

"Dark Hollow"; A House of Palladian Inspiration Facing Upon Long Island Waters

   "Dark Hollow" was built by Walter Jennings, who was chairman of the board of Standard Oil, and given to his son Oliver Jennings as a wedding present. 


"Dark Hollow" sits at the bottom of a steep winding drive that ends at the carriage house and entrance courtyard.  
The Cold Spring Harbor home of Oliver Burr Jennings. Mott B. Schmidt and Mogens Tvede, associate architects.

  Through the arched entrance the court shown below is reached.

Summer beach house(note the sand) inspired from one of the 57 palaces owned by Prince Yusupov, the man who reportedly killed Rasputin.
The Cold Spring Harbor home of Oliver Burr Jennings. Mott B. Schmidt and Mogens Tvede, associate architects.

   Not only is this house designed in the style of the Renaissance master, Palladio, but the architectural motif which bears his name is the basis for front and rear facades, and the central features of these, as well. The Cold Spring Harbor home of Oliver Burr Jennings. Mott B. Schmidt and Mogens Tvede were associate architects. Follow THIS LINK to read more on this "association".


Built above a three-hundred foot long sea wall with sweeping views of Cold Spring Harbor.
The Cold Spring Harbor home of Oliver Burr Jennings. Mott B. Schmidt and Mogens Tvede, associate architects.

   The rear facade, a view of which is given, faces on a grass terrace that stretches to the water's edge.

Through a 20-foot-tall arched Palladian doorway, the rotunda in the entry hall rose forty-five feet and the star pattern of the light fixture is repeated in a large skylight and on the terrazzo floor outlined in brass. At the second floor landing a wrought iron railing runs full circle around the balcony.
The Cold Spring Harbor home of Oliver Burr Jennings. Mott B. Schmidt and Mogens Tvede, associate architects.
  
  A house-depth living room, whose huge proportions can be seen below, is entered through a circular entrance hall floored in blue terrazzo.


The house interiors were decorated in  a blue-and-white Art Deco style. All the floors on the main floor were glazed in Delia Robbia blue tiles. The barrel vaulted ceiling in the living room rose to 42 feet. 
The Cold Spring Harbor home of Oliver Burr Jennings. Mott B. Schmidt and Mogens Tvede, associate architects.

Party guests would arrive by private yacht and dock along a long wooden pier hung with glowing lanterns, while the sea wall was lined with flaming torches.

At one end of the sea wall stood an open pavilion with a copper domed roof, aged to a beautiful turquoise and topped by a marble urn.


Unoccupied and left to vandals "Dark Hollow" was demolished in late 2011. Note the bordered up windows and deteriorating roof.


"Dark Hollow" before demolition.

As of September 2013 the land remained vacant.

Click THIS LINK to see where "Dark Hollow" stood at wikimapia. 

The Arkhangelskoye Palace was finished in 1810, after it was purchased, while under construction, by Prince Nikolai Yusupov.

Yusupov altered the palace to better display his 16,000-volume library and collection of paintings.

  Hints of inspiration can be found in another of the Prince's palaces located  in Leningrad, The Yusupov Palace